top of page

Drawing the exhibition and coming to a conclusion

Although technically I had completed my final piece at the project was over, I still saw the potential for development. I couldn't resist sitting down in the space and making drawings from the sculpture. I wanted to observe it like I had the buildings it was created from, looking from different angles and seeing all there was to see. In a way I felt as though I had come full circle, I'd started with an observation and that was the way I was going to finish.


It was interesting to see how the elements worked together and dissect the layers that I had created. The drawings seemed like some kind of utopia, an imaginary city built with different styles that merge to create a whole.


I felt that within this project I achieved my aims. Although the outcome was far from what I initially had in mind, I was happy with the direction my work took. The opportunity to explore different ways of working and loosen up my practice was one I thoroughly enjoyed. The development from SP3 to SP4 is clear and I feel that I understood and have taken into consideration the feedback given from that project. This allowed for expansion into different materials and styles, providing me with much more freedom that I had allowed myself previously.


Even though I had named my project Architectural Life in SP3 I don't think I fully succeeded with the brief until this term. Now what once had been a flat image on the page sprang out into a sculpture. The work is now much easier to interact with and looks more alive than it ever has. The use of the cut-offs certainly extended the piece and took it further, working together with the drawings to create a whole cityscape rather than just acknowledging the old architecture.


The progression I achieved since SP3 inspired me and I feel that the outcome I achieved fully achieved what I set out to and I am happy with my final exhibition. The project has left me inspired to create new work and begin a new project in my third year.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page