top of page

Developing work from the off-cuts

When I created my first paper cut, the part that had been removed from the drawing curled in on itself to form a cylindrical shape. It was doing this because the lining paper I created the work on had once been rolled tightly causing the off-cut to revert to its original form. These made interesting forms which seemed somewhat clinical yet had the residual character from the drawing section.


Upon further inspection, I realised what they represented. Once this happened, there was no way I could throw them away, even if they hadn't been needed initially. They were modern buildings. The giant, modernist structures that are becoming increasingly more common in our towns and cities. The modern buildings dominate the skylines with their metal and glass features, a key example of this being our own University's buildings. Somehow they slot in alongside the old architectural stone and meld to make areas that are both historical and modern. Yet, without the old structures, the new ones wouldn't be able to come forth, certain elements remain, the new buildings are developed from the old.


I love how the colours and excess ink are washed over the paper, dancing along the jagged edges left behind from the old architecture. When looked down on from above, the different cuts and shapes disappear a little and all that stands out are the cylindrical shapes, representing the lack of differentiation between modernist structures.


I feel that these pieces will work well with my architectural drawings and provide a clash of styles in a way that is interesting and exciting. I hope to make sure that the way I exhibit shows the potential of these pieces.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page