top of page

Experimenting with different colours

Updated: May 1, 2019

Once I discovered that I wanted to use a more fluid material like Ink. I got to thinking about how else I could make some changes from Studio Practice 3. This came in the form of using different coloured inks for the drawing itself rather than just using them as background materials.

I decided to create the drawings by using two different colours and layering architectural features on top of one another. Doing this, I found that certain colours worked better together than others and that the consistency of the ink differed depending on the colour I was using. The red and blue seemed to work well together and provided a nice contrast. In areas where the ink hadn't fully dried, the colours began to merge, leaving another addition to the piece.


As well as the use of colour, I also wanted to try out creating with different tools and marks, for this, I used acrylic paint and a pallet knife. The work produced was completely different from the pieces I had created previously, there was much more texture. The marks were seemed quicker, but there was less fluidity so in reality, it took longer to create. Due to the tool I was using, it was hard to get the detailed result I had been looking for, therefore the pieces came off much more abstract.


Although I thought it was good to experiment with different ways of working, I decided that I preferred the use of black ink to create the drawing elements of my work. This was mainly because I set out to achieve this in my project proposal, stating that the black ink symbolised the stillness of the buildings, while the vibrancy of the background represented the people who inhabit them.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page