top of page

Paper Cutting

After developing my lengthy landscape pieces I decided that simply applying them to the wall made them look flatter than I would have liked. After much thought, I decided to try out paper cutting and see what happened when I made a more sculptural piece, something that wasn't restricted to the constraints of the paper. I felt that this gave the piece more definition, not only that but because it was somewhat free-standing it reminded me of a miniature village or some kind of theatre set. This provided me with a whole new idea for which direction I wanted to take my work in.

I like the fact that the architectural drawings which were once presented in a two dimensional way, could now be displayed in one which was much more engaging. This kick-started my idea to build a whole city from the works, no only using the pieces with the drawing on, but making use of the offcuts also. I was inspired by one of the books I was using for my research when I saw a hand-drawn map, this made me imagine what it might look like to use multiple pieces to build a cityscape. (1) This is something I am looking forward to exploring further. I know I will need to create more pieces to go alongside the one I already have, hopefully, these will bring a variety of the elements I have been experimenting with.


(1) Gould, P., & White, R. (1974). Mental maps. Pelican Books.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page