top of page

Progression

Updated: May 1, 2019

Once I had decided to experiment with ink instead of a fine liner, I felt it was time to change the composition. Even though the medium was different, the pieces still looked similar to the ones I had been creating during Studio Practice 3. I felt that it was time for me to push this further and develop something new.


My initial idea to move away from previous works was to change the orientation and make the pieces landscape instead of portrait, this immediately gave off a different feeling to the work. Instead of acting as one building, the drawing comes across as a cluster of buildings which are built up from architectural features. I painted the features onto lining paper using the black ink. However, I quickly found that the ink from the university's storeroom wasn't as pigmented as I wanted it to be. I decided that to give a more intense colour I would try adding some black acrylic and this seemed to work well.


Not only did I change the orientation, but I added collaged sections. These were created from historical documents I found in the archives and I applied them to the artwork in torn strips. Packing paper was also added along with photocopies of some of the fine line drawings created during Studio Practice 3, this provided more visually interesting elements. I also differed between adding coffee stains and ink to define certain sections in a way I hadn't before.



Resources used

The Huddersfield Chronicle and West Yorkshire Advertiser (West Yorkshire, England), Saturday, March 11, 1854; pg. 4; Issue 206. British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900.

The Huddersfield Chronicle and West Yorkshire Advertiser (West Yorkshire, England), Saturday, November 18, 1854; pg. 8; Issue 242. British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page